top of page

Lorraine Gross Memorial Scholarship

Educator, Administrator, Presenter, Arts Advocate, Colleague, Mentor, and Friend. These are just a few of the many hats worn by Dr. Lorraine Haughk Gross (1935-1998). Born in Milwaukee and receiving her M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from Michigan State University, Lorraine joined the theatre faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in 1968. From those early years of teaching theatre and designing costumes, through the formation of the Cultural Affairs Committee, to the realization of a state-of-the-art performing arts center for the campus, two distinctive qualities were evident: Lorraine’s commitment to the arts and her unique ability to instill her passion into the lives of the students who surrounded her.


The annual Midwest conference was characterized by the presence of Lorraine and her entourage of students, all eager to learn about the business of arts presenting. In recognition of her devotion to education and the arts, the Wisconsin Presenters Network established the Lorraine Gross Memorial Scholarship to enable one student each year to attend the Midwest Arts Xpo (MAX).



1999       Jennifer Wolf                UW Whitewater

2000       Andrea Pelloquin         UW Madison

2001       Alliso Tonn                    Bolz Center

2002       Carna Engstrom           UW Whitewater

2003       Carey Ninfo                  UW Stevens Point

2004       Anne Jude Simon        Viterbo University

2005       Jolene Dalebroux        UW Stevens Point

2006       Erica Jo Lloyd Hoye     Viterbo University

2007       Chris McDermott         UW Green Bay

2008       Emily Lindahl                UW Stevens Point

2009       Kevin Hankes                UW Platteville

2010       Hannah Weiss               Viterbo University

2011       Jarrad Biitner                Lawrence University

2012       Lindsay Sheridan          Luther College

2013       Grace Felion                 UW Whitewater

2014       Erica Bush                     UW La Crosse

2015       Tiffiney Kavers              University of Dubuque

2016       Katrina Lang                 UW Madison

2017       Grant Kees                   UW Whitewater

2018       Cassidy Skorja              Carthage College

2019       Liam  Ladewski             University of Dubuque

2020                                              no scholarship awarded

2021                                              no scholarship awarded

2022                                              no scholarship awarded

2023       Emily Leavey                 Butler University

2024       Bri Leider                       UW Stevens Point

Applications for 2025 TBA

bottom of page